“Harlem” Duke Ellington’s Masterpiece 1989 – 1993 (Video)

We love this great post by Charles Bradley II on Youtube of a rare video from music master Duke Ellington’s beautifully complicated “Harlem,” 1989 – 1993:

From the liner notes by Maurice Peress:

“Harlem” (orchestrated by Luther Henderson and Maurice Peress) was to be part of a group commission by the celebrated conductor, who was not known as a champion of American music.Duke, a master title-giver, described the work as a concerto grosso for jazz band and symphony orchestra. In “Harlem”, we see Ellington as having learned from his “Black, Brown, & Beige” experience. It is one completely integrated movement, the first part of which is held together by the word “Har-lem” (a minor third), intoned by the growl trumpet. The second half is built out of the street funeral dirge (Duke refers to an Elks Band) which begins as an eight-bar blues for three marvelously interwoven clarinets and builds to a climax combining both thematic ideas.

Here are note from Ellington’s “Harlem”:

  1. Pronouncing the word “Harlem,” itemizing its many facets—from downtown to uptown, true and false;
  2. 110th Street, heading north through the Spanish neighborhood;
  3. Intersection further uptown–cats shucking and stiffing;
  4. Upbeat parade;
  5. Jazz spoken in a thousand languages
  6. Floor show;
  7. Girls out of step, but kicking like crazy;
  8. Fanfare for Sunday;
  9. On the way to church;
  10. Church—we’re even represented in Congress by our man of the church;
  11. The sermon;
  12. Funeral;
  13. Counterpoint of tears;
  14. Chic chick;
  15. Stopping traffic;
  16. After church promendade;
  17. Agreement a cappella;
  18. Civil Rights demandments;
  19. March onward and upward;
  20. Summary–contributions coda.
Related:  Taxi Driver Says He Was Violently Attacked After Driving Couple In Harlem

The musicians include Jon Faddis on the trumpet, Bill Easley, the clarinet, Ron Carter on the big bass and Butch Miles the drums.

Here’s the recording:

Via source. Click here to find more recordings from the album.

About Harlem World Magazine

HARLEMWORLDMAG.COM the #1 source in the world for all things Harlem since 2003.