‘Small Talk At 125th And Lenox’ By Gil Scott-Heron

A New Black PoetSmall Talk at 125th and Lenox, also known simply as Small Talk at 125th and Lenox, is the debut album of soul musician and jazz poet Gil Scott-Heron, released in 1970 on Flying Dutchman Records. Recording sessions for the album took place live at a New York nightclub located on the corner of 125th Street and Lenox Avenue. By the time of the recordings, Scott-Heron had published a volume of poetry and his first novel, The Vulture. Well-received by music critics who found Scott-Heron’s material imaginative, Small Talk at 125th and Lenox has been described as “a volcanic upheaval of intellectualism and social critique” by Allmusic editor John Bush.

Here’s the hit list:

Who’ll Pay Reparations for My Soul

[youtube http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=i4CChz4DjQE&w=480&h=390]

Comment #1

[youtube http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8B6DVdCzwy0&w=480&h=390]


[youtube http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oxWiMHrrPok&w=480&h=390]

The Subject Was Faggots

[youtube http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=O92981dskK4&w=640&h=390]

Original LP

Side one
No. Title Writer(s) Length
1. “Introduction / The Revolution Will Not Be Televised Scott-Heron 3:17
2. “Omen” Scott-Heron 1:45
3. “Brother” Scott-Heron 2:35
4. “Comment #1” Scott-Heron 4:26
5. “Small Talk at 125th & Lenox” Scott-Heron 1:20
6. “The Subject Was Faggots” Scott-Heron 3:10
7. “Evolution (And Flashback)” Scott-Heron 3:20
Side two
No. Title Writer(s) Length
8. “Plastic Pattern People” Scott-Heron 2:50
9. Whitey on the Moon Scott-Heron 2:57
10. “The Vulture” Scott-Heron 2:00
11. “Enough” Scott-Heron 8:37
12. “Paint It Black” Scott-Heron 0:30
13. “Who’ll Pay Reparations on My Soul?” Scott-Heron 4:20
14. “Everyday” Scott-Heron 4:20
  • Track 13 runs 5:14 on CD reissue.


This entry was posted in Uncategorized by . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply